Book club offers a variety of genres

The Waterstones’ Book Club continues with more favourite reads recommended by the staff at the Morpeth book shop.

Joe is reading: The Versions of Us, by Laura Barnett.

All of us think at sometime in our life ‘what if?’. The Versions of Us looks at these moments in the lives of its three central characters.

Firstly, Eva and Jim, when their paths cross in 1958. We then are introduced to David, who is involved with Eva. This is a novel about the nature of love and how it evolves through the course of our lives.

Think what if Kate Atkinson and David Nicholls wrote a novel together.

Paul recommends: How Not To Be Wrong: The Hidden Maths of Everyday Life, by Jordan Ellenberg.

Ever wanted to know how to maximise your chances at winning the lottery?

How Not To Be Wrong shows us how maths touches everything we do, and how with a little knowledge, we can see the hidden structures which govern the seemingly chaotic world in which we live.

A wonderfully readable and relatable book.

Great for fans of Freakonomics, Happiness by Design and Thinking, Fast and Slow.

Connie’s choice is The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow, by Katherine Woodfine.

Enter the world of Sinclair’s Department Store, but beware as a daring theft is about to take place. Will the despicable criminals escape with their precious loot?

A great read to share with your children.