Club recommends some riveting reads

The Waterstones Book Club’s sessions continue as staff from the chain’s Morpeth store recommend the pick of their reads.

Gorsky, by Vesna Goldsworthy

A Russian billionaire takes an interest in an ailing London bookshop while trying to reconnect with a lost love. The bookseller gains access to a world of wealth and privilege but soon sees a darker side to this world.

This novel was hugely popular as Radio 4’s Book at Bedtime and has received some great reviews.

It is a super read for fans of F Scott Fitzgerald as it is a modern take on The Great Gatsby.

Gut, by Guila Enders

Did you know that the key to a happier, healthier you starts in the most under-rated organ of your body – the gut. Guila Enders takes us on a trip through our digestive system, and her message is simple – if you treat your gut well, it will repay you in kind.

This is a fascinating, funny and informative book, which has been a bestseller in her native Germany. It’s great for fans of Henry Marsh and Bill Bryson.

Listen to the Moon, by Michael Morpurgo

It is May 1915. Alfie and his fisherman father find an injured girl who can’t speak on an uninhabited island in the Scillies.

As war rages, the villagers start to question whether the girl is friend or foe.

From the author of The War Horse and Private Peaceful comes a novel which deals with all that is important in the world - family, love, war and forgiveness.

It’s great for ages nine and upwards.