Council appoints its committee leaders

Committee members have been appointed as Morpeth Town Council begins a new civic year.

The authority’s Finance and General Purposes Committee will be chaired by David Parker, as previously, with Les Cassie as Vice-Chairman.

Members are Ken Brown, Ron Forster, Stuart Lishman, Bob Robertson, Adrian Slassor, Andrew Tebbutt and Nic Best.

There is a new Chairman for the Planning and Transport Committee as Joan Tebbutt takes the hot seat, with Bob Robertson appointed Vice-Chairman.

Other members are Alison Byard, David Clark, Rachel Moore, Stuart Lishman, David Parker, Dave Pope and Nic Best.

Coun Andrew Tebbutt will remain Chairman of the Property and Asset Management Committee, while Dave Pope will be Vice-Chairman.

The members are Alison Byard, Les Cassie, David Clark, Ron Forster, Mark Horton, Rachel Moore and Nic Best.

As reported in the Herald last week, Nic Best is the town’s new Mayor and Alison Byard is Deputy Mayor.