Elections announced

Share this article

NOMINATIONS are now in for two council elections.

Morpeth Town Council has a vacancy in South Ward following the resignation of Ken Kirkbride and four candidates are standing for the chance to take his place.

They are Carol Butler (Lab), Ronald Forster (Green), Dave Herne (Cons) and Edward Hillier (LibDem).

The election will take place in the ward on Thursday, June 23.

In Widdrington Station and Stobswood there are two parish council vacancies as a result of the resignations of Jacqueline Bexfield and Lynne Morton.

Two candidates have come forward to fill them, Isabell Fraser and Jacek Juszczyk (Lab). They will be elected unopposed without the need for a vote.