General Election candidates confirmed for Berwick constituency

Lancashire elections
Lancashire elections

The full list of candidates bidding to become MP for Berwick has been released after the deadline for nominations closed at 4pm today.

The six listed below will be on the ballot papers come Thursday, May 7, and are in the running to become the constituency’s first new MP in more than 40 years after the retirement of Sir Alan Beith.

The constituency is set to be the subject of media attention as it is a target seat for the Conservatives to steal from Liberal Democrat control in what is likely to be one of the country’s tightest General Elections in living memory.

The candidates for the Berwick seat are: Nigel Revell Coghill-Marshall (Ukip); Scott Dickinson (Labour); Neil Humphrey (English Democrats); Julie Pörksen (Liberal Democrat); Rachael Roberts (Green Party); Anne-Marie Trevelyan (Conservative).

Our new election site, which features videos of voters from across the country, including north Northumberland, talking about the real issues that matter to them, launched on Monday. Visit