Labour takes early lead

LABOUR is taking an early lead in Northumberland County Council elections.

Alyson Wallace has won the Bedlington Central seat, ousting Liberal Democrat Arthur Pegg.

The Party’s Jimmy Sawyer has claimed the College Division, while Dave Ledger retained the Choppington seat, Ian Swithenbank kept Cramlington East and Kath Nisbet secured Croft Division.

Val Tyler claimed Bedlington East for the Party and Robert Arckless secured Amble.

First seat for the Conservatives was Bamburgh, taken by John Woodman, with further wins for the Party so far with Jean Fearon in Corbridge, John Riddle in Bellingham, and Terry Robson in Hexham Central with Acomb.

Liberal Democrat Jim Smith has held Berwick East, Alan Sharp has claimed Haydon and Hadrian Division for the Party, and its candidate Gavin Jones has taken Berwick North.

Independent Paul Kelly has retained his Bywell seat.