New body for council ‘to benefit local areas’

There are now four area committees in place at Northumberland County Council.

Chiefs at County Hall believe the new arrangement, which involves the creation of a central committee to add to the north, south east and west bodies, will provide a better local focus.

The wards in the central committee include Longhorsley, Morpeth Kirkhill, Morpeth North, Morpeth Stobhill, Pegswood, Ponteland East and Stannington, Ponteland North, Ponteland South with Heddon and Ponteland West.

Council leader Grant Davey said: “The new arrangement will allow members to play a stronger role in the way local services, such as grass cutting and street cleaning, are delivered.

“Increasing the number of committees will also mean a more local focus and responsibility for making recommendations on priorities for local transport projects has also been added to their remit.”