New governors elected at Northumbria Healthcare

New Year pharmacy times.
New Year pharmacy times.

People from across Northumberland and North Tyneside have been chosen to become the voices of their communities on local health issues.

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust has held elections for public governors to join its Council of Governors, to represent the views of local people and help build links between Northumbria Healthcare and the communities it serves.

Following elections, the following have been chosen – Berwick (covering Alnwick and Rothbury): Elisabeth Haddow; Peter Herdman; Gabrielle Stewart; James Barry Allison. Blyth Valley: Eugene Cooke. Hexham: Ian Fell; Tony Newton; Stephen Prandle. North West Tyneside: Peter Latham; Mary Laver; Robert Wilson. North Shields: Stuart Arkley; Peter Blair. Wallsend: Tony Turnbull. Wansbeck: Pauline Greaves; Brian Kipling; David Wilkinson. Whitley Bay: Heather Carr; Geoff Mann; Eunice Weatherhead.

They join 14 existing public governors.

Brian Flood, chairman of Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, said: “First of all we’d like to thank local people for putting themselves forward to be elected and our members for voting for them.

“As geographically one of the largest organisations in the country, our governors play a vital role in helping us to forge links with our communities across Northumberland and North Tyneside.

“Our governors represent the views of local people, influence our priorities and help us develop our services.

“We’d like to welcome our new governors at a very exciting time for our trust with the recent opening of our Northumbria hospital in Cramlington and we look forward to collectively working with them to further improve the healthcare we provide.”

Northumbria Healthcare provides hospital and community services in North Tyneside and hospital, community and adult social care services in Northumberland.