New man at the helm

SENIOR council positions have been filled for the coming year.

Northumberland County Council has elected George Todd as its new Chairman, replacing Marcia Bircham after her year in office.

Coun Todd, who was voted into post at the authority’s annual general meeting last week, represents the Wansbeck Bedlington West ward and has been a councillor for 20 years.

He will be supported by new Vice Chairman Jim Smith.

The ruling Liberal Democrat group has also appointed its Executive team. It will be led by Jeff Reid, with Roger Styring as Deputy Leader.

Executive members are Andrew Tebbutt for Corporate Resources, Ian Lindley for Adult Care and Wellbeing, Lesley Rickerby for Children and Young People, Neil Bradbury for Customer Relations and Culture, Tom Brechany for Planning, Housing and Regeneration, Isabel Hunter for Infrastructure and Environment, Alan Thompson for Neighbourhood Services, Highways and Transportation and Anita Romer for Health and Public Protection.