WhatsApp is making a big change for users who regret hitting send
WhatsApp will soon allow users to erase any messages they might regret up to an hour after sending.
The mobile messaging platform currently lets users 'take back' sent messages within a short window of seven minutes.
It has been reported that a forthcoming beta update will lengthen this window to an hour or more.
If well received, this change is likely to be rolled out to all WhatsApp users on both Android and iOS devices.
WhatsApp users will soon be able to delete messages they regret up to an hour after sending (Photo: Shutterstock)
It won't cover your tracks entirely
Deleting a message that was either accidentally sent or instantly regretted from any WhatsApp conversation will remove it for every member of the chat group.
However, you won't be able to cover your tracks entirely. WhatsApp will still leave behind a message informing everyone in the conversation that something has been deleted.
One and a half billion users
First released in January 2009, WhatsApp now has user base of over one and a half billion, making it the most popular messaging application of all time.
The platform was acquired by Facebook in 2014 for a total of $19 billion - the social media giant's largest purchase to date.