The tree of memories raises £3k

Morpeth Rotary Club's Tree of Light in Sanderson Arcade. Picture by Jane Coltman.
Morpeth Rotary Club's Tree of Light in Sanderson Arcade. Picture by Jane Coltman.

A Morpeth tribute to loved ones who have passed away has raised more than £3,000.

The Tree of Light appeal, which has just completed its fourth year, was set up by Morpeth Rotarian Rhona Dunn in her presidential year at the club.

People are invited to make a donation in memory of someone close or for a simple Christmas greeting to their family.

Messages are written on an application form and then transferred onto a card and hung on the tree in the Sanderson Arcade.

They are also put in a book of memories which is kept beside the tree throughout the Christmas period. After the festive period, it can be seen at the offices of Alan Beal, funeral director, in Bridge Street.

Rhona said: “From the beginning, we agreed that we would support whichever charity the Mayor of that year was – this year, Jack Gebhard’s is mental health charity Mind – the Arcade’s charity, which is Cleaswell Hill School, and our charity, which this year is Henry Dancer Days.”

Morpeth Rotary Club thanked the following for their donations: Mrs RD Dunn, Mrs AM Rudd, Mrs AD Patterson, Mrs AWM Murray, Mrs W Barker, Mrs A Shotton, Mrs S Hall, Mrs ME Turnbull, Ms B Gay, Mr & Mrs A Swailes, Mrs J Anderson, Mrs RD Dunn, Mr & Mrs L Brindley, Mr P Burn, Mr C & Mrs M Holt, Rev & Mrs G Brigham, Mrs CM Beattie, Miss E Mcmillan, Mr & Mrs A Leitch, Mr & Mrs J Miller, Mrs K Moody, Mr DR Sanderson, Mr T Ternent, Mrs M Graham, Mr E Lewins, Ms CH Jones, Mrs MP Colquitt, Mrs S Straughan, Mr & Mrs I Hunter, Mrs T Farrier, Mr D Easton, Mrs ES Smith, Mr R Shotton, Mrs K Moffat, Mrs S Layton, Mrs K Nixon, Mrs E Parker, Mr & Mrs WL & JM Howe, Mr JT McPhillips, Mr C Marklew, Miss LJ Dickinson, Mrs T Gartland, Mrs AP Cape, Miss B Landells, Mrs C Harrison, Mrs SA Fotton, Mrs GA Irvine, Mrs S Parker, Mr & Mrs T Davey, Miss A McDougall, Mrs W Moffatt, Mrs AN Hamilton, Miss J Pringle, Mr J Wilkinson, Mr & Mrs J Wilkinson, Mrs L Short, Mrs V Scott, Mrs SP Metcalf, Mrs MM Surtees, Mr A Clark, Mrs I Clark, Mrs A Barry, Mr IR Tapster, Mr E Muir, Mrs L Millership, Mr D Wardle, Mrs D Harrison, Mr A Stubbs, Mrs HM Stubbs, Mrs J Smith, Mr R & Mrs M Kendall, Mrs M Macdonald, Miss T Scott, Mr GRH Hill, Mrs L James, Mrs V Bland, Mrs MP Martin, Mrs C Thomas, Mr JR Dunn, Mr JR Dunn, Mr MH Newman, Mrs CM Cooper, Mrs K Tweddle, Mrs GA Thompson, Mrs K Kelly, Mr J & Mrs A Tebbutt, Ms C Thompson, Mrs JM Barwick-Nesbit, Mr S Parsons, Mrs D Richardson, Mr S& Mrs J Carmichael, Miss NH Mayhew, Mrs SL McCabe, Mrs B Baker, Mr & Mrs K Ford, Dr SE Errington, Mrs K Dodds, Mrs E Hall, Mrs SA Kendall, Mr & Mrs BR Hedley, Mr A Thorn, Mrs D Brotchie, Miss PB Brown, Miss KS Stephenson, Mrs AL Carr, Miss J Taylor, Mrs DA Luke, Mrs PL Purvis, Mr LM & Mrs M Angus, Mr & Mrs BA Cartledge, Mr R Griffiths, Mr & Mrs SJ Byard, Mr N Keating, Mrs M Kingcombe, Mr J Reynalds, Mrs J Davis, Mrs JM Robinson, Mrs J Dixon, Mr & Mrs BJ Davison, Mr A Waterston, Mrs I Burke, Ms I Russell, Mr P & Mrs J Ryalls.