East Chevington win to reach Sunday League cup final

In the first semi-final of the David Crichton Cup in the Blyth & Wansbeck Sunday League, East Chevington were at home against Blyth Town Sunday.

Wednesday, 21st August 2019, 09:44 am
Updated Wednesday, 28th August 2019, 07:48 am

Reaching the Blyth League final was East Chevington with a 6-2 win. However, they had to come from behind to go through. Blyth Town went one up after only 30 seconds and they scored their second on seven minutes.

This brought the best from the home side and it took a half time substitute in Brad McClellend to turn the match their way. He came on and scored a hat-trick. Also on target for the home side were Kevin Bell (2) and Peter Murray. Goals for Blyth Town came from Chris Ruddick and Dan Hi Voung.

East Chevington will have to wait for the winners of Newbiggin New Ship and Bedlington Social Club to see who they play in the league final.

Two games in the Premier Division saw Ashington RAOB at home against Newsham Victory and Ashington Town Hirst at home against Newbiggin New Ship.

In a very close game between Ashington Town Hirst and Newbiggin Ship, the Ship won by the odd goal in three. Marc Donaghey scored for the Hirst. Goals for the Ship came from Lee Warren and Nathan Armstrong.

In the other game, Ashington RAOB went down 5-3 against the Vic. Kyle Downey scored two for the Buffs, with Liam Thompsom scoring their other goal. On target for the Vic were Liam McKee (2), David Lillico, Craig Frazer and Gavin Agnew.

Games in the first division saw Bubbles Ashington and the Phoenix Tap play out a 2-2 draw. Shaun Cowell and Jordan Hancock scored for Bubbles, with Luke Celino and Craig Wilson replying for the Phoenix Tap.

Another game ended in a draw when Bedlington Breakers and Ashington Town Central shared six goals. Jonny Taylor and Marc Ord scored for the Breakers. On target for the Central were Liam Hornsby, Adam Dixon and Stephen Frater.

West Allotment won at home 6-1 against the Burton House. Goals for the Allotment came from Andy Smith (2), Ian Smith, Michael Butcher, Mitchell Rennie and Ian Graham. Mathew Pye scored for the Burton House.