Town’s top players in 2012/13 are honoured

Share this article

MORPETH Town’s players, coaches and officials enjoyed the final event to look back on last season’s promotion campaign.

The award-winners at the presentation evening, which took place at The Wansbeck pub in Kirkhill, were as follows:

Manager’s Player of the Year: Michael Chilton; Committee Player of the Year: Michael Hall; Players’ Player of the Year: Michael Hall; Young Player of the Year: Steven Anderson; Top Goalscorer: Michael Chilton.

Twenty of last season’s successful squad have signed up for the forthcoming campaign and manager Nick Gray has strengthened it with several additions. Joining the Highway Men are ex-Ryhope CW goalkeeper Christopher Rooke, centre-half and former Hebburn Town captain Christopher Jewells, ex-North Shields captain Daniel Patterson, who plays full back, and defender Michael Robinson, who returns to the club after a season at Blyth Town.

In midfield, exciting young prospect Sean Taylor, a former captain of Sunderland’s reserve side, has signed for the club and attacking midfielder Sean Bell and prolific striker Scott Swanson have joined from Newcastle Benfield and Whickham respectively.

Town’s next pre-season fixture is at home to St Johnstone of the Scottish Premier League on Saturday. Kick-off is 3pm.