Harriers hail their Tartan heroes

MORPETH Harriers performed well at Saturday’s 17th Tartan Games at Gateshead International Stadium.

Joe Robertshaw comfortably won the Under 17 400m in a time of 51.91sec.

Ria Fairnington won the Under 13 high jump with a clearance of 1.35m. She also finished second in the long jump (3.99m) and third in the 200m (29.84sec after a 29.75sec heat).

The only other Morpeth winner was Jonny Nisbet in the Under 17 1500m – he clocked 4min 18.82sec.

Philip Winkler finished second in the Under 15 1500m in a time of 4min 28.40sec behind Middlesbrough’s Jason Blackburn, who smashed the meeting record with a time of 4min 24.30sec.

Other Morpeth placings in the 1500m were: Ryan Green, fifth in 4min 35.23sec; Jarod Lewis, sixth in 4min 37.80sec; Elliot Kelly, seventh in 4min 39.91sec.

Winkler also finished fifth in the long jump with 5.19m and Green had earlier finished second in the triple jump with a distance of 10.45m.

Alex Nesbit clocked 26.53sec in his 200m heat and was sixth in the Under 15 long jump (4.63m).

Claire Reid competed in all the throwing events in the Senior Women’s age group, placing second in the shot (10.14m), second in the discus (23.58m), third in the hammer (23.58m) and third in the javelin (18.99m).

At Saturday’s Park Run 5km events, Morpeth Harrier Andrew Lawrence won at Bushy Park in Hertfordshire by a margin of 13sec, in a time of 16min 28sec.

His clubmate Ian Harding easily won the Newcastle race. He clocked 15min 36sec to finish nearly a minute clear of Gateshead’s David Old.

Fellow Harrier Graeme Leathard finished 27th in a time of 19min 43sec.

Phil Walker led home the Morpeth challenge in last week’s Watergate 5km at Lobley Hill, Gateshead.

He finished seventh in a time of 16min 48sec and was second veteran home behind sixth placed Stewy Bell of Chester-le-Street (16min 46sec). The pair also occupied the first two M40 places in the incorporated Veterans AA/North East Championship.

Morpeth’s Sarah Wilkinson was second lady home in 16th position in a time of 17min 46sec. She also won the Over 40 category and VAANE gold medal.

Other Morpeth placings included: Mike Hegarty, 12th in 17min 32sec; Archie Jenkins, 50th in 20min 23sec (second Over 55, VAANE Gold medal); Marie Drozdowicz, 59th in 20min 48sec (fifth lady, first Over 50).

The race was won by Newcastle-based Ethiopian Yarod Hagos, who broke Neil Wilkinson’s 2004 course record of 14min 55sec by 17 seconds.

Justina Heslop of Clapham clocked 16min 30sec to finish third and she broke Alyson Dixon’s 2006 female course record by 36 seconds.