Ian continues fine form to win 10k race

Race winner Ian Hudspith and second and third finishers Mark Hood and Matt Nicholson.
Race winner Ian Hudspith and second and third finishers Mark Hood and Matt Nicholson.

WINNING the Tynedale 10k race last Wednesday in a time of 30m 23s, Ian Hudspith continued to show the fine form he has maintained since his performances in the Blaydon race and the Great North 10k, writes Peter Scaife.

Hudspith was part of a triumvirate comprising club-mate Matt Nicholson and Sunderland Harrier Mark Hood who, having left Sparrow Morley of Tyne Bridge Harriers to take the early kudos for the George Ogle Memorial mile as the course passed through the village of Ovingham in a time of 4m16s, established a lead at the front of the race. He was able to shake off first Nicholson, who finished third in a time of 31m 51s, and then Hood, finally crossing the finish line to win by more than 13 seconds.

Third home for Morpeth was Mark McLeod, seventh in a time of 31m 51s, and, with three to count for the team prize, Morpeth were comfortable winners of this.

Mike Thomson was fifth home from the club and 18th overall in a time of 35m 9s, and this time he got the better of young Sam Hancox by over half-a-minute, Sam finishing 25th in a time of 35m 46s. Phil Walker was close behind, 13th overall in 36m 2s and third veteran Over 45.

With clubs only allowed to pick up one team prize, these three were unfortunately denied the chance of a third-place team.

In the women’s race, won by Alyson Dixon of Sunderland Strollers in 33m 40s, Joanne Brown was Morpeth’s first female finisher in a time of 41m 34s and she also picked up the prize for first Over 40 female veteran.

The popular Tyne Valley run, which sees competitors travel from Ovington to Ovingham, then on to Wylam, before crossing the river to finish by the banks of the river at Prudhoe, enjoyed a substantial turn-out from the club on a night which was great for spectators but which many taking part found a little too muggy for comfort.

Other Morpeth finishers included: Matthew Boyle, 35th in 36m 24s (a personal best); Matt Forster, 44th in 36m 56s; Rob Hancox, 54th in 37m 29s (another pb); Mike Winter, 98th in 39m 40s; Mark Snowball, 106th in 40m 1s; Richard Sill, 184th in 43m 21s; Bob Wells, 196th and second veteran Over 65 in a time of 43m 48s; Eric Adams, 213th in 44m 28s; Norman Clark, 223rd in 45m 4s; James McFetrich, 248th in 45m 54s; Shuna Rank, 277th in 46m 46s and Geoff Calder, 390th in 50m 43s.