Mitford victory sparks title party

Warkworth II (173-7) v Mitford (174-5) Alnwick and District League

MITFORD secured the league championship with a five-wicket away victory.

The home side batted first and made a decent start until Matthew Lees ran out opener Doyle for nine.

Colin Crowe and David Wigham took important top order wickets and some sharp fielding by Alex Davies meant Anderson was run out.

Warkworth’s Davison was looking good for a half-century, but Lees put a stop to that when he clean-bowled him for 38.

Lees took two further scalps as the hosts finished their 45 overs on 173 for seven. Although he did not take a wicket, Kieran Little went for only 14 runs off his nine overs.

Stephan Hunt and Wigham got Mitford off to an excellent start in reply as they made crucial scores of 47 and 31 respectively.

There was a little wobble once they were out, but Nick Gaynor steadied the ship and took the visitors to the brink of victory and the title with an excellent innings of 46.

Lees (six not out) then hit the winning run to start the party.