Richard rides to victory

RICHARD Jones was the winner of Barnesbury Cycling Club’s Ballantyne Memorial Road Race.

The Bike Science rider completed the 55-mile course, which covered Mitford, Hartburn, Scots Gap and Cambo, in two hours and 31 minutes. The rest of the top 10 were: 2 Peter Hale (GJS Racing), 3 Nicholas Spencer (Gosforth RC), 4 James McPake (GJS Racing), 5 Chris Herbert (Infinity Cycles), 6 Dominic Hines (Velo Club Edinburgh), 7 Ewan Minty (Berwick Wheelers CC), 8 Paul Watson (private member), 9 Angus Elliot (The, 10 Chris Booth (private).

First Junior was Peter Hale, King of the Mountains was James McPake and the winner of The Dave Walton Memorial Sprint was Paul Watson.