Seconds are the champions after fine victory

Ponteland II (191-8) v Consett II (157) Northumberland & Tyneside Senior League, Division B1

PONTELAND Seconds held their nerve to win the league title with a 34-run victory at home to Consett II.

The home side batted first and the opening partnership of Matt Darwood (28) and Rory Marr (34) mixed graft from the former and boundaries for the latter as they took the score past 50.

Parag Chauhan added 20 and David Waters made a useful 25. Nick Brown was in decent nick and in search of his half-century, he was bowled for 48 from the final ball of the innings to set a target of 192.

Early nerves were settled by Duncan McGregor as he claimed two wickets in his opening two overs and although Consett battled their way to 43, McGregor then claimed his third scalp and soon afterwards bowled opener Bainbridge for 39.

The visitors’ middle order did not go down easily, but they were eventually on the brink of defeat thanks to two wickets from Waters and John Gardner and one for Andy Denyer.

It fell to Gardner (3-33) with another confident LBW shout to take the final wicket and start the celebrations.

In Division A1, the first XI’s end of season slump continued after they were bowled out for 118 at Consett I. Top scorers were Tom Seymour with 41 and Wayne Ritzema with 36.

The home side reached their victory target with six wickets to spare.