Morpeth beat Consett by 83 runs

Morpeth 1sts, who have slipped to fourth place in the NTCL Division 1 in recent weeks, had an 83-run away victory over Consett 1sts on Saturday.

Tuesday, 23rd July 2019, 12:05 pm
Updated Wednesday, 7th August 2019, 11:17 am

Morpeth batted first and a knock of 52 from opener Paul Johnston helped them post 144-7 at the end of their innings, with Stuart Graham claiming 3-29.

Consett were all out for only 61 in reply, with only two bats in double figures. Elliott Clark and Michael Craigs did most of the damage with four wickets apiece.

Ponteland 1sts lost by three wickets when they travelled to face Seaton Burn 1sts in Division 2.

Neil Stanley was 33 not out and there was 29 from Thomas Reeman as Pont put on 150 all out, with Chris Weldon taking 4-33 for the home side.

In reply, Seaton Burn needed 37 overs to chase it down at 151-7, with Javed Mirza top scoring on 45. Ben O’Brien took 4-24 for Pont with the ball.

In Division 3, Blagdon Park 1sts beat league leaders Warkworth by three wickets at home. Matthew Potts hit 53 as Warkworth made 163-6 at the end of their 50 overs, Harry Johnson claiming 3-49.

Adam Clarke then hit 53 for Blagdon as they replied with 164-7, reaching their target with just three balls remaining. Martin Clark took three wickets for Warkworth.

Stobswood 1sts were home to Whitley Bay 2nds in Division 4, and they won by eight wickets.

Whitley Bay had six bats who failed to score and they were skittled for only 47 all out, with three wickets each for Paul Patterson and Ian Watson. Stobswood reached their target of 48-2 in 13 overs, with Dan Watson top scoring on 19.

Kirkley 1sts tied their game at home to Seaton Burn 2nds in Division 6.

Michael Nicholson was 55 not out as Kirkley posted 209-7, Jim Ellis taking three of the wickets. Seaton also finished on 209-7, with Ellis 43 not out, Robbie Burns taking three wickets.

Ulgham 1sts had a one wicket victory over Blagdon Park 2nds. Blagdon were 139-8, with David Loxon taking three wickets, and in reply Ulgham were 143-9, with Sandeep Singh taking four wickets.